REBEL FUCKIN EIGHT …

I rode my bike over from Silver Lake Area to 3rd and Crescent Heights, better known as The Fast Life for The Big Takeover.

The scene was typical, long ass line in the blazing sun. Could be complaining about rain though right? So it wasn’t so bad.

Hanging out before the opening I was able to talk to Mike Giant, The artist for all of Rebel 8’s art work and a very prominent graffiti writer from the bay area. He is such a genuine person. We talked about the look of the collab, the blink 182 album art project, kind of bridging a gap between street wear from LA and SF. We also got on the topic of natural progression with friends and business. I was commenting on the fact that this collaboration did not seem forced, much like the last collab they did, it seems as more of a real from the heart collab with two companies who want to push the same art and the same message to more people. It was really an inspiring 10 minute conversation haha

After waiting another 40 mins, we finally made it to the door and inside. The collaboration is more than I can show you and honestly I don’t like posting pics of the clothing all that much but here is my favorite piece from the collection.

Varisity Jacket that I am sure my girl Ello Ace is just gonna die for 🙂 The patch work is detailed and amazing. The sleeves are leather with black embroidery on the shoulders. Clean back. Double front pockets and this inside print.

Some people don’t care for these details, I fucking LOVE them, but someone put it very well to me yesterday while FeedingTheStreets and I were arguing about it. He said, ” ok look at the jacket alone, would you but it for the same price without the print on the inside?” the answer was ofcourse yes from all parties. “then its dope” and I agree, if companies have to charge more for something then most of the time its not worth it but if you liked the item enough before you noticed then its just an extra surprise. ok back on track.

I finally got to introduce myself to Josh. Super nice dude. I wore my Benny Gold x Rebel 8 Glider collab so we talked about SF for a sec and I just commented on all the great work they have been doing. I also met his lovely fiancee, Victoria I believe was her name (it was loud as hell in that store), and we watched Giant do some illustrating.

This man is a master.Watching him draw makes me want to relearn how. haha Its ridiculous. oh and he is painting this whole wall with Krink paint pens.

Amazing. So we hung out for a bit to check out the clothing and everything. It was really a good time. I love the layout of The Fast Life.

Oh and Travis Barker was there too.

Get Rough, Stay Up

About rough and greedy

Street life : Design : Street wear Get Rough, Stay Up
This entry was posted in Art, Graffiti, Photography, shirts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

